cloud

#4 Cloud Initiation

Diigo is a digital, social bookmarking site, that is great for annotation and recently outlined organization of notes and links. With the start of the school year right around the corner, I have begun working on various sites, tips and tricks I want to remember as we get back into the swing of things. My Back to School page will continue to grow and change as we get closer and school actually begins, or possibly I will set it aside until next fall when I need to reorganize and I will be able to look back and reflect back on my sticky notes and annotations of things that worked and what I may change.

Google Drive has become my go to for cloud storage needs. In the past I have also used Dropbox , however with my school going to chromebooks and my email service being gmail, it just made the most sense to stick with Google for most of my needs. Google Drive has made it incredibly easy to integrate with most services and smart phones.

GoogleDriveScreenShot

When I first began teaching and working on lesson plans and grading assignments, working from 2 and sometimes 3 different computers it was near impossible to keep up with all of my documents and I am notorious for losing flashdrives. When cloud based services appeared it changed my life. Being able to share files, even with myself is an AMAZING feature. I can work on lessons from any computer at anytime.

The organization of Google Drive is simplistic and customizable. I love that folders can be color coded, alphabetized or sorted by most recent, additionally you can have folders inside folders inside folders! Love that I can search my documents and it will scan the document for keywords and titles. Google has thought of everything!


Best Practice (CITW): supports summarizing and notetaking with sharing of documents, discussion forums, and posts.

ITSE: For Teachers (2008)

5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

Teachers continuously improve their professional practice, model lifelong learning and exhibit leadership in their school and professional communities by promoting and demonstrating the effective use of digital tools and resources.

